Blockbuster Socks HD-DVD In The Gut

While my colleague Steve Wilson is much more of a high-def optical disk expert than myself, I think this decision by Blockbuster definitely puts a chink in HD-DVD’s armor. The HD-DVD promotional group was, not surprisingly, unhappy with the decision.

“I think trying to make a format decision using such a short time period is really not measuring what the consumer is saying,” said Ken Graffeo, co-president of the group.

Its not exactly the death of HD-DVD, but I think all it would take is one more departure of a studio and the writing will be on the wall in permanent ink and spray-paint. Currently HD-DVD has exclusive support from only Paramount, while Blu-ray has Columbia, MGM, Disney, Fox and Lion’s Gate. Luckily for HD-DVD, home video behemoth Warner Brothers hasn’t shown any signs of skittishness.”

More

