Why does Linux suck?

Don’t shoot me, I’m only the messenger here.  I do however agree with many of the points of the article.  It’s not a Linux bashing article at all.  It simply states things are clearly in the way of Linux gaining mass adoption.

“Given that 93% of the desktops in the world run an Operating System that costs an arm-and-a-leg, there must be something seriously wrong when you cannot give your Operating System away. So, why does Linux suck?

Consistency

Linux is a modular Operating System, unlike Windows, it can combine any number of software packages to create a distribution. The end result is that there is no single Linux Operating System, but rather, a diverse number of variations. These variations can have different commands, desktops, directory structures, hardware detection systems, installation managers and software applications.”

More

One Response to “Why does Linux suck?”

  1. Samisa Says:

    Absolutely! Linux does lack consistency. And a prime example is my workplace. Some of the folks use Ubantu, and I use Fedora. At the first glance, they use deb packages and I want rpms. We cannot share what we got. Some use Gnome desktop and I use KDE. I cannot run what they run and they cannot run what I run.

Comments are closed.


